Saturday, May 18, 2024

Election Results




LEAVENWORTH – Preliminary votes are in for the 2023 General Election. A total of 14,041 ballots have been counted with an estimated 5,261 ballots left to count.

The vote is nearly split for City of Leavenworth Mayoral candidates Carl J. Florea and Rich Brinkman. Incumbent Mayor Florea leads the polls with 53.9 percent favorability. 

Current City Council members Anne Hessburg and Zeke Reister ran unopposed for positions two and three. Council member positions one and four are likely to have new faces, as both Travis McMaster and Rhona Baron lead their incumbent opposers, Marco Aurilio and Tibor Lak, by roughly 20 percent more votes. The seventh position is open on City Council, with new candidates Polly McIntyre and Shane Thayer running for a two year term. Thayer leads with 67.53 percent favorability.

Bruce Williams is likely to win Hospital District No. 1 Commissioner #2 over Cindy Puckett, with 60.23 percent of the votes. With similar percentages, Gustavo A. Montoya will likely win Commissioner #4 over Duane Goehner. Jessica Kendall ran unopposed for position one.

Judy Derpack ran unopposed for Cascade School District No. 228 School Board Member Director District #2, as well as Cynthia Garza for District #4.

Ross Frank ran unopposed for Fire District #3 Commissioner, as did Tim McElravy and Scott Andrews for Alpine Water District Commissioners #1 and #2, respectively.

The next ballot count is anticipated on Nov. 9, at 4pm.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here